Best breakfast ever: Peanut Butter-Coconut-Chia-Balls

Check out this breakfast from heaven:

Tea & Peanut-Butter-Banana-Coconut-Chia balls!

So – how did this happen?
Well, basically I wanted to make these peanut-butter cookies from the FatFreeVegan blog. Then, in the store, I decided that instead of chocolate chips, I was gonna put in some coconut flakes. So that’s where the coconut part came from.
Next, I had my peanut-butter-banana mixture all prepared. But: I couldn’t figure out how to turn on the oven. Embarrassing, eh? I’ve lived in this house for 4 weeks now and haven’t used the oven yet.
Anyway, so instead of despairing, I just poured in more and more coconut flakes to make the mass thicker. I wasn’t really satisfied yet, though. So I looked into my pantry and – Jolly, there’s chia seeds! You may understand my joy better if I tell you what’s in my pantry: not much. I think now that I’ve finished the chia seeds, there’s only olive oil, some onions and some nutritional yeast in there. Pretty bland.

So either way, here it goes:

What do you need?

  1. 1/2 cup of peanut butter
  2. 2 ripe bananas
  3. 3/4 cup coconut flakes
  4. 1/4 cup chia seeds

What you do is simple. Mix 1/2 cup of peanut butter and two ripe bananas until you get a sticky mass. I added some sugar at this point because I was still in the belief that I was gonna make cookies, but you could probably leave the sugar out. Then, add coconut flakes. Add your chia seeds. And more coconut flakes. I can’t really tell you how much I used of either. Probably about 1/4 cup of chia seeds, 3/4 cup of coconut flakes. Also, make sure to buy the unsweetened coconut flakes to avoid unnecessary added sugar.

Put in the fridge overnight.

Enjoy the next morning! :) With the ingredients of just banana, peanut butter, coconut and chia seeds these are great if you want a sweet, but still healthy breakfast. Nom! Chia seeds are such little healthy wonders. Read more about their awesomeness at Vegan Princess or Green Food, green thumb, green higheels.


What alternative breakfast options have you tried?

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

