Almond Milk: My new Love

Until a couple of months ago, I’d never even tried soy milk. Now that I’m over in Canada, there are so many more options! Almond milk? Rice milk? Oat milk? Yes, please!
So I tried it a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with it. I had some again last night and decided it’s finally time to let the world know of this new love of mine: Almond milk <3

Check for the nutritional stats on Feed Me I’m Cranky and find out how to make your own almond milk over at hipster food. Make your almond milk? Sounds like a great plan to me!

Either way, this stuff is great. It is dairy and soy free, and lower in calories than dairy or soy milk. Apparently, the “combination of potassium, magnesium and calcium found in almond milk makes it ideal brain food meaning that daily consumption of almond milk is recommended for enhancing and retaining memory”. And it tastes great. The only let-down is that it can be quite expensive, sadly. What a cruel world. But when you have an excuse to buy it, such as to make Chocolate Pudding Pie, always go for it!

Which is your favourite non-dairy milk?

8 comments
  1. Almond milk is good, but my fav is coconut! So creamy and delicious. Love it ice cold with a oatmeal cookie :)

    • True, I love coconut milk as well! I guess I don’t really think of it as alternative ‘milk’ though, cause it’s so thick and creamy :)

  2. I love the Silk brand, especially the vanilla flavour!

    PS: Don’t be scared of Canadian winters (unless you’re in Alberta, Manitoba, or Saskatchewan… then maybe you should be scared of Canadian winters)! :P

    • haha nope, I’m in ontario but I’m by the lake so I hear the wind gets pretty bad :D But I’m prepared!

  3. Carrie said:

    Yay almond milk! When I lived in Canada I used to buy Vita Soy a lot, but I think I heard they are discontinued or something like that.

  4. SaraJane said:

    Almond milk is the best! That’s my favorite, too, though I’ve recently discovered hemp milk. If I’m baking, I think it actually turns out better with the hemp milk. Also, I had some homemade almond milk the other day and it was amazing. Now I need to try making my own at home, too. It actually doesn’t sound too hard.

    • uuh, hemp milk sounds intriguing. next time I’m at the WF I should definitely check if I can find it there! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

