Day 5: A (not-so) Cheesy Matter

Cheese is what I thought I’d miss most this lent. I don’t drink much milk, and I hardly ever buy any eggs, but I do like cheese. So I started looking around for alternatives straight away…

I did some research, and it turns out that vegan cheese is available in all kinds of colours and textures and even quite cheap – but quite a few people claimed the taste was rather unpleasant and simply ‘not the same’.
Then, however, I found out about nutritional yeast “cheese”. I read about it in all kinds of other blogs like here, here and here and they all reported tastiness, easy preparation and yummy cheesy texture and feel. I also like the idea of producing the stuff myself.
So, once again, went to Health Foods on Market Street and luckily found this:

The vegan margarine, on the left side, is also a valuable ingredient. I found it in Tesco after scanning all the other one’s ingedrient lists: Who knew even plant-based margarine had buttermilk or milk proteins in it? :S

So you will need:

– 2 tbs Vegan margarine
– 3 tbs Flour
– 50 ml Water
– 1 ts Mustard
– 1 ts Salt
– 4 tbs Nutritional yeast flakes
– 100 ml Water

Mix all the stuff together in a pan in the given order after melting margarine first.
Bring it to a quick boil and then you’re done.
Then, it will have the texture of a very thick cheese sauce, so you can do whatever you like with it. I chose to pour it over my potatoes and bake it in the oven for about 5 min.

Aaaand this is the end product:

Very happy with it. Incredibly tasty, the texture is very similar to that of cheese. As you can see in the picture, it melts nicely and even has a little brown crust on it. Yum.

5 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    Believe it or not but one day you’ll get over your beloved cheese (I never, never, never though I’d say this because before I started living vegan almost my whole diet was based on cheese ;)).
    There’s also some decent fake-cheese’s you can buy in health food stores (at least in Germany – I don’t know about Scotland) or online. Some are better than others, of but for pizza etc. most of them work pretty well.
    However, what I wanted to tell you above all: check out http://www.veganwiz.com/category/vegan-cheeses/ !! They have some great recipies for homemade cheese on the base of soy milk & soy joghurt.

    • Ok, so I shall try to believe you that I will be over cheese at some point.🙂 The yeast stuff is definitely helping! How do you think it took you to get ‘over it’?
      And thanks so much for the link – as I said, one thing I like about the Hefeschmelz is that I can produce it myself, so that sounds like a cool idea. Dankeschön🙂

Leave a Reply

