Homemade Vegan French Onion Soup

Last weekend, we went skiing. After a long morning of racing down the slopes, we all met up again on the hut for lunch. We were in a hut, and all my friends ordered French Onion Soup, while I was chewing on the Tofu-Baba Ganoush sandwich I sneaked in(true story). This is one of these situations where you wish restaurants would even try to be accommodating.
Now, to be honest I can’t even remember ever trying French onion soup – but it did sure look delicious.

Back at home, a few days later, I am on a mission to once again convince the world that vegan food can be just as delicious as the ‘original’. And trust me: mission accomplished.

I used this basic recipe from the Olives for Dinner blog, but modified it a little bit due to some missing ingredients:

3 large Vidalia onions
5 TB Earth Balance 2 TB E.B., 2 TB Veg Oil, salt
1 TB flour Forgot to put it in
1/2 cup sherry 1/2 cup white wine
4 cups homemade vegetable stock Some non-measured more cups of wine
1 Not-Beef bouillon cube Salt, more salt, chicken seasoning, Chili powder
5 springs of fresh thyme, tied with baker’s twine
2 bay leaves (YES!! – Managed to follow the instructions correctly!)
sliced baguette pieces,
Daiya shreds, mozzarella-style

So I am not saying my version is better on any means, just saying: if you need to improvise, do so. It will most likely still turn out delicious.

For detailed cooking instructions, please check the original recipe.

After simmering for a whole 2 hours

The stuff that dreams are made up of

This was also my first time buying Daiya cheese. I’ve heard many good things about it, so my expectations were high – and I was not disappointed. I will do a more thorough review later!
(Hint: look at the above picture to get the o-tone of my review..)

And oh man, did I love this soup. I may have gone a bit overboard with the wine, but most of the alcohol cooks off anyway (right?). So yeah.. try this and you will not regret it! I also loved having the left overs and haved enjoyed onion soup for breakfast, lunch dinner the past few days. (just kidding, the night I made it we ate so much of it there was barely any left …). But if you have more self control, I am sure this soup would make lovely leftovers!

3 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    I used to eat onion soup all the time as a kid. I haven’t had it in ages! This looks amazing! šŸ™‚

    • fps said:

      Yeah, it’s great. Definitely try this recipe… so yummy :->

Leave a comment